Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Ghetto Youths International Presents SET UP SHOP, # 1 on Billboard Reggae Album Chart

Two weeks after being released, Ghetto Youths International Presents SET UP SHOP Vol 1 album is dominating the international music charts. The Billboard Reggae Album chart is the latest victim of the album’s onslaught of talent and diversity. The album holds the #1 spot on the Billboard Reggae chart.

Set Up Shop Vol. 1, released on iTunes Tuesday, February 26 on the Marley brothers owned label Ghetto Youths International, debuted at the # 1 spot on the iTunes Reggae Album Chart in the United States and Japan and in the # 2 spot in the United Kingdom. Cristy Irving (Barber), Director of Operations at Ghetto Youths International is pleased with the support the album has been receiving, “I am encouraged by the huge support for the Set Up Shop Volume 1 compilation. Music Lovers have endorsed the label's musical mandate with their purchases and this reinforces the point that there is a genuine appreciation for Jamaican music in the world. The label remains committed to being that positive outlet for true Reggae music and for young talent." She said.

The 14 track compilation features talented GYI artistes including Jo Mersa and Daniel ‘Bambaataa’ Marley, the third generation of Marley performers, Wayne Marshall, Black-Am-I, Christopher Ellis, and Marley brothers – Stephen, Julian and Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley. Also featured are noteworthy collaborations from the likes of exceptional musicians: Jah Cure, Bugle, Bounty Killer, Buju Banton, Akon, Tarrus Riley and T.O.K.

Ghetto Youths International owned by Marley brothers, Damian, Stephen and Julian is busy stamping its claim on the entertainment scene as it continues to put out videos for its artistes. Recent videos from Wayne Marshall (Go Hard), Black-Am-I (Modern Day Freedom) and Jo Mersa (Bad So and Comfortable) from the compilation showcases the talent of the artistes signed to GYI and their dynamic sound and styles.

Track listing

1. Set Up Shop - Damian "Jr Gong" Marley 
2. End of Time - Christopher Ellis featuring Stephen Marley & Jah Cure 
3. Samson Strength - Black-Am-I 
4. Move Dem - Julian Marley featuring Bugle 
5. Dont Change Your Number - Christopher Ellis featuring Bay C of T.O.K. 
6. Affairs of the Heart - Damian "Jr Gong" Marley 
7. Bad So - Jo Mersa
 8. Go Hard - Wayne Marshall featuring Damian "Jr Gong " Marley , Aidonia , I-Octane , Assassin , Bounty Killer& Vybz Kartel 
9. My Conclusion - Stephen Marley featuring Akon & Buju Banton 
10. Comfortable - Jo Mersa 
11. Dem Neva Mek It - Damian "Jr Gong " Marley 
12. Treat You Right - Daniel Bambaata Marley 
13. Modern Day Freedom - Black-Am-I 
14. In Dependence - Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley, Wayne Marshall , Tarrus Riley , T.O.K.

No comments: